Skip to content

DAY 6 Continued…

November 7, 2009

Leigh:

Leigh shopping1Rushed home from the gym, picked up my daughter, cleaned up the house and showered. The experts were on their way over to teach me how to cook food for the weekend.

They made it over close to 2p, which conveniently is the time of day that is one of my hardest times! For some reason I get so tired everyday around that time, but no rest for me! The supplies are all laid out and the cutting begins. Charlie cooking lesson1shows me the “correct” way to cut and dice veggies for the recipe we are making. It’s very obvious to the “experts” that I don’t usually cut veggies yet alone saute them. Little did they know it was going to be a cooking 101 class! Charlie at one point asked…in her cute accent “Leigh WHEN was the last time you used this blender??” or another one was “You need a new veggie peeler Leigh!” I learned a lot of new recipes for the weekend and I think I will be good with these food ideas.

I have had several people ask for the recipes so here is one:

Spicy Black Bean Soup

1/2 red onion
1 small carrot
1 red pepper, diced
2 cloves of garlic
10 fresh tomatoes, diced
1/2 tbl cumin
1/4 tbl chipotle powder
1/8 tsp cayenne
2 med oregano leaves (or dried oregano)
1 tsp salt
tsp pepper
1 qt black beans, soaked and cooked
2 qts water
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

Sautee the onion, pepper, carrot and garlic.  Add the spices, salt, pepper and tomatoes, sautee some more
Add the water and black beans and simmer for a good 30 mins.
Blend half the soup and mix back with the un blended half.
Check seasoning, add the chopped fresh cilantro and eat!

We had this for dinner and it was great! You could also add brown rice to it and or some heartier vegetables like sweet potato and make it into more of a filling meal. Or have it as soup one day and with extra veggies and rice the next!

If you have any questions and would like to contact me, email leigh@30daystohelpyourself.com I would love to help anyone that needs to get started with their own “challenge” and share some of my own experiences.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

